Jobcenter Siegen-Wittgenstein

Family & Work

Representative for “Equal Opportunities in the Labour Market”

Parents and carers are often disadvantaged when trying to access the labour market. There are difficulties in ensuring adequate child care or care for relatives is put in place and the flexibility required of the labour market as a consequence can often barely be achieved.

In the majority of cases it is women who take a career break for parenting or caring. After long-term career breaks, clear disadvantages arise when trying to access employment.

In order reduce the inequalities in opportunities in the long-term - especially between men and women when accessing the labour market, the legislator stipulated in Section 18e of the Social Security Statute Book II (SGBII) that Representatives for “Equal Opportunities in the Labour Market” (BCA) be put in place.

At the Jobcenter Kreis Siegen- Wittgenstein the BCA supports recipients of Unemployment Benefit II (ALGII), employers and staff in matters concerning:

  • the promotion of women

  • the equal treatment of men and women in the labour market, as well as

  • the “Compatibility of Family and Work” for both sexes.

In particular this includes questions regarding training and further training, entering employment and career progress for women and re-joining for men and women after raising a family or caring for a family member.

In addition, men and women are given targeted support in gender-neutral career choice. This is because until now men have formed the majority of workers in mathematical, engineering, scientific and technical jobs whereas women are over-represented in care and educational posts.

This all adds up to consultancy services and information provision on topics such as child care, part-time training, support possibilities, flexible working models, as well as legal advice on dealing with or for parents and carers.

Some of the information on these subject fields is available in our "DownloadCenter".

Click on “Latest News to find up to date information and tips on newly available documents and planned information events.

If you need advice or have general questions on the topics listed above, you can find the contact details for the Representatives for “Equal Opportunities in the Labour Market” or to the project "Network ABC" by clicking “Contacts.

Jobcenter Siegen-Wittgenstein

Familie und Beruf

Beauftragte für Chancengleichheit am Arbeitsmarkt

Erziehende und Pflegende Angehörige werden beim Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt häufig benachteiligt. Es bestehen Schwierigkeiten die Kinderbetreuung, bzw. die Pflege der Angehörigen ausreichend sicher zu stellen - die auf dem Arbeitsmarkt geforderte Flexibilität kann dadurch oftmals kaum erbracht werden.

Überwiegend sind es Frauen, die Ihre Erwerbstätigkeit zugunsten von Erziehungszeiten oder Pflegezeiten unterbrechen. Nach längeren Erwerbsunterbrechungen entstehen deutliche Benachteiligungen beim Zugang in ein Beschäftigungsverhältnis.

Um die Chancenungleichheiten insbesondere zwischen Männern und Frauen beim Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt langfristig zu verringern, hat der Gesetzgeber im §18e SGBII die Einrichtung einer/eines Beauftragten für Chancengleichheit am Arbeitsmarkt (BCA) festgelegt.

Im Jobcenter Kreis Siegen- Wittgenstein unterstützt die BCA Leistungsempfänger/Innen ALGII, Arbeitgeber sowie die Mitarbeiter/Innen bei

  • der Frauenförderung

  • der Gleichstellung von Frauen und Männern am Arbeitsmarkt sowie

  • der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf bei beiden Geschlechtern.

Hierzu zählen insbesondere Fragen der beruflichen Aus-/ Weiterbildung, des beruflichen Einstiegs und Fortkommens von Frauen und des Wiedereinstiegs von Frauen und Männern nach einer Familienphase sowie nach Zeiten der Pflege Angehöriger.

Darüber hinaus werden Männer und Frauen gezielt bei einer geschlechterneutralen Berufswahl unterstützt. Denn in den Mathematischen, Ingenieurs-, Naturwissenschaftlichen und technischen Berufen sind bislang mehrheitlich Männer tätig. Im Gegenzug sind in den Pflege-und Erziehungsberufen Frauen überrepräsentiert.

Das bedeutet ein Angebot der Beratung und Bereitstellung von Informationen zu Themen wie Kinderbetreuung, Teilzeitausbildung, Fördermöglichkeiten, flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle sowie eine rechtliche Beratung im Umgang mit den/ für die Erziehenden.

Die Informationen zu diesen Themenbereichen werden zum Teil unter Downloadcenter für Sie bereitgestellt.

Unter Aktuelles finden Sie aktuelle Informationen, Hinweise auf neu eingestellte Unterlagen und geplante Informationsveranstaltungen.

Wenn Sie einen Beratungsbedarf oder allgemeine Fragen zu den aufgeführten Themen haben, finden Sie die Kontaktdaten zur Beauftragten für Chancengleichheit am Arbeitsmarkt oder zu unserem Projekt Netzwerk ABC unter Ansprechpartner.